North Carolina physician loans · Cornerstone First Mortgage · NMLS #173855 Call Mike Certo · (480) 296-6513 · mcerto@cfmtg.com
Call Mike See my options

Which Clinicians Can Use a North Carolina Physician Loan

Program and regulatory figures verified October 6, 2026. Details change; confirm your scenario with us.

By Mike Certo, Cornerstone First Mortgage · NMLS #260555 ·

Two kinds of eligibility get confused here. The loan cares about your degree. North Carolina's four programmes care about your specialty, your site, your county, and whether you have debt at all.

Apply Now Talk to Mike first

Who can use the physician loan?

  • MD and DO physicians
  • DDS and DMD dentists
  • DPM podiatrists
  • OD optometrists
  • PharmD pharmacists
  • DVM veterinarians
  • CRNA nurse anaesthetists
  • Residents and fellows

Specialty is irrelevant to the loan. A Charlotte interventional cardiologist and a Kinston family physician are identical applicants.

★★ The four programmes are much narrower

 Physician loanNC incentive programmes
BasisDegreeSpecialty, site, county and debt status
Specialty restrictionNonePrimary care; ★ PCPI adds General Surgery in critical access hospitals only
Site restrictionNone★ Eligible high-need facilities; PCPI needs a physician-owned practice
County restrictionNone★ PCPI's automatic route is Tier 1 / Tier 2 only
Student debtHelps if you have it★★ Decides the programme: loans → LRP/PCPI; none → HNSB
CommitmentNone★ Up to 4 years
Residents and fellowsEligibleMust meet ORH's provider and site criteria

So a Raleigh cardiologist can use the loan and no programme. A Kinston family physician at a physician-owned practice may be able to use both. All four programmes and the ownership clause.

★★ Which programme fits which clinician

You areLikely routeMaximum
Physician or dentist with loans, at an eligible high-need facilityNC LRP$100,000 non-taxable
Physician with loans, at a physician-owned Tier 1/2 practiceNC PCPI$100,000 non-taxable
★ Physician or dentist with no loansHNSB$100,000 taxable
NP, nurse midwife, PA or dental hygienist with loansNC LRP$60,000 non-taxable
NP, nurse midwife, PA or dental hygienist without loansHNSB$60,000 taxable
Registered nurse or clinical nurse specialistNCNIsee ORH guidelines
Anyone, as a longer-term optionNHSC (federal)$50,000 over 2 years

Residents and fellows

Eligible designations for the loan, which matters in a state with as much academic medicine as North Carolina. The features that carry a trainee file are the student-debt treatment and the 150-day pre-start window rather than the income.

On the incentive side, ORH's programmes run from provider and site criteria rather than a published final-year route, so confirm with ORH where you stand before assuming you can apply during training. (Ohio's programme does have a statutory final-year route; North Carolina's published page does not state one, and we will not invent one.)

Dentists

DDS and DMD are eligible for the loan on the same footing as physicians. On the incentive side, North Carolina treats dentists equally with physicians: up to $100,000 under NC LRP and under HNSB, against $60,000 for nurse practitioners, nurse midwives, physician assistants and dental hygienists.

Buying as a North Carolina dentist.

The employment contract

If you are closing before your start date, the contract carries the weight. It needs a start date no more than 150 days after the note date, and salary or compensation details covering at least a 12-month period. Contingencies may cover only your receipt of your medical licence, or normal administrative requirements such as background checks, drug testing and fingerprinting.

★ Read it for one more thing: who owns the practice. If the employer is a hospital or health system, PCPI is out, and that is worth knowing before you compare offers. The timing detail.

One thing to be clear about

This is a lender portfolio programme, not agency financing, which is exactly why it can treat student debt and start dates differently from Fannie Mae's rules. Terms are set by the lender and change.

Ask us where your file actually sits. (480) 296-6513.

Frequently asked questions

Who qualifies for a physician loan in North Carolina?

Clinicians holding MD, DO, DDS, DMD, DPM, OD, PharmD, DVM or CRNA designations, including residents and fellows. Eligibility runs on degree rather than specialty, so a surgeon and a general paediatrician are treated alike. Program terms are set by the lender and change.

Does my specialty matter for North Carolina incentive programmes?

Yes, considerably. The state programmes are primary care programmes, and PCPI's eligible specialties are Family Medicine, General Internal Medicine, General Surgery within critical access hospitals only, General Pediatrics, Obstetrics and Gynecology, and Psychiatry. The physician loan itself has no specialty restriction, which is why the two eligibility tests are often confused.

Are dentists treated equally by North Carolina's programmes?

Yes. Dentists receive the same maximum as physicians: up to $100,000 non-taxable under the NC Loan Repayment Program or up to $100,000 taxable under the High Needs Service Bonus, against up to $60,000 for nurse practitioners, nurse midwives, physician assistants and dental hygienists. Verified against ORH 2026-10-06.

Can residents apply for North Carolina loan repayment?

ORH's programmes run from provider and practice-site eligibility criteria, and the page we verified does not state a final-year trainee route, so confirm your position with the Office of Rural Health rather than assuming one. Residents and fellows are separately eligible for the physician loan itself.

Mike Certo · NMLS #260555 · Cornerstone First Mortgage NMLS #173855 · Equal Housing Lender. Educational content, not a loan commitment and not legal, tax, visa, or licensure advice. Physician-loan program terms, eligible degrees, and overlays are set by the lender and change. North Carolina Office of Rural Health incentive award amounts, eligibility and guidelines are set by ORH, are contingent upon funding, and are subject to change at any time at ORH's discretion; several current provisions are described by ORH as temporary. Figures here carry the date we verified them against ORH's published pages and the North Carolina General Statutes. County Distress Rankings are set by the State and change. All loans are subject to borrower and property qualification, including credit and income review.